Pumpkin Pancakes (paleo, gf, df)

Inevitably, when the weather starts to get chilly, a few things happen in my life: I am inexplicably drawn to Staples (particularly the school supplies section), I lose my husband on Sundays (ah, football, you saucy minx) and I begin to stockpile cans of pumpkin puree.

It’s true. I am on the pumpkin bandwagon so hard it’s embarrassing. I don’t WANT to be this way. I don’t want to go weak in the knees for baked treats that, while tempting on their own, become a test of my resistance skills at every turn just because of an added gourd. I can barely go into a Starbucks without spotting a bread, muffin or scone that forces me to avoid making eye contact just because the word “pumpkin” was thrown in there. Yes, I avoid eye contact with pumpkin pastries. Go ahead. Judge me.

I breathe a sigh of relief when Pumpkin Pancakes are absent from a brunch menu. Because who can say no to that? And then, who can avoid finishing a plate of delicious, warm pumpkin pancakes doused in maple syrup and butter? And then, who can feel good after a meal like that? No one. That’s the answer to all of these questions.

So I decided to make my own healthified pumpkin pancakes. These cakes are COMPLETELY guilt free, contain just a few ingredients you probably already have, and will quiet the pumpkin monster that lives inside of you… for a few minutes.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

 

Pumpkin Pancakes (serves 1)

2 eggs

1/4 pumpkin puree

1 tsp pumpkin pie spice (or cinnamon and nutmeg)

Syrup or honey for topping (optional)

 

Whisk eggs, pumpkin & spices together. Pour onto small, nonstick pan. Flip after about a minute or until pancakes set. Cook for another 30 seconds. Drizzle with syrup and enjoy!

I made 2 large pancakes.

Leave a Reply

