Sakara Cleanse Day 5

Today I got my final delivery from Sakara Life and I’m feelin real sad about it. Like unreasonably sad. Remember last week when you found out that Eva Mendes had Ryan Gosling’s baby and you officially lost your shot with him? Yeah, that kind of sad.

This cleanse has left me feeling amazing. My boozy brunch mistakes from last weekend have completely been erased and I’m a new woman. I always say I want to try to give up gluten to see if it would alleviate the constant sluggishness I feel but it’s always harder than I think it will  be. Well, not so when you have your delicious, local, organic meals hand made and delivered to your door step (for just under the low price of all your vital organs and first born son).

There are definitely groups of health extremists enthusiasts (cough raw vegans cough cough) that claim eating this way gives you endless energy, glowing skin, stronger hair/nails, increased libido, clear eyes, full hearts, can’t lose! (I also just started watching Friday Night Lights Season 1- and I’m getting carried away). While I don’t think I’ll ever be able to give up cheese, wheat products and meat FOR GOOD, I do think I need to limit these items much more strictly in my diet so that I can completely eliminate them from time to time without feeling like a completely useless human being (please see Day 1 and Day 2). I do have that really natural energy that hits in the morning right when it’s supposed to and lasts until I go to sleep (still a bit earlier than usual….which is early anyway).

Breakfast today is a Brazil Nut, Lime & Hemp Power Bar. This is so rich and tasty from the brazil nuts and coconut. I absolutely love the vibrant lime flavor and it keeps me full forever. In fact, when I am asked to go to yet another corporate lunch, I don’t even freak out because I’m still not hungry and I know it won’t be difficult to resist temptations.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I ended up ordering an heirloom tomato and corn salad with torn basil. I don’t know if corn is actually allowed on the Sakara cleanse but I figured I could do way worse and I wanted to take advantage of the very last dregs of summer produce. The salad was delicious and I feel like I’ve conquered yet another obstacle.

Dinner tonight was Quinoa Pasta Salad w/ Arugula & Hemp Seed Pesto and it was HUGE. Like bigger than my husband’s Chipotle burrito bowl. It was also delicious (which was nice for the hubs since I was planning on glaring at him for ordering a delicious burrito bowl while I was eating mountains of greens). I think the Sakara gals gave me a Friday treat for being so good all week 🙂 In related news, Quinoa pasta is divine and something I could definitely get behind.

 

get in my belly.

get in my belly.

 

 

Leave a Reply

