Sakara Cleanse Day 1

Prior to cleansing, it is recommended to start eliminating certain foods from your diet in order to prepare your body. These foods include dairy, alcohol, caffeine, meat and anything processed. I had every intention of doing all of this.

Instead, I had an unplanned glutinous weekend (sometimes you have to brunch for your mom’s birthday…and sometimes that brunch includes many champagne cocktails…and strawberry trifle…and pumpkin bread…and dairy filled cappuccinos. And sometimes your mom’s Sunday Birthday Brunch is your second brunch of the weekend…).

I woke up on Monday still bloated and puffy from my gross weekend and more ready than ever to cleanse. I started the day with a 3 mile run and then waited anxiously for my cleanse to arrive. I was pretty hungry by the time my delivery came so I had some blueberry herbal tea to ward off cravings. My first meal was a Cinnamon Pecan Breakfast Bar- it was full of berries and nuts. The bar looked more like a muffin and it was very dense and absolutely delicious. Not too sweet and very filling. I usually can’t eat muffins or bars for breakfast and be satisfied until lunch so I wasn’t terribly surprised when I was pretty hungry around 12pm. I had my detox tea (I tend to like naturally sweet and less earthy teas, so this is not what I was craving but still warming and satisfying). Lunch was a Cooling Cucumber Salad with Creamy Mint Dressing. It was tasty but I’m not going to pretend that resisting the cookies in the communal office kitchen downstairs wasn’t causing me physical pain.

Without my late morning coffee, I also started to lag a bit. I took a quick walk around the block and the cool air has revitalized me…for about 2 minutes. I had a green apple (Granny Smith apples have less sugar than other varieties) and felt MUCH better.

Dinner is a Kimchi and Rice Noodle Vitality Bowl. This was my favorite meal of the day- not a coincidence, it was also the largest. The noodles were a bit spicy  and the salad dressing was amazing. I have noticed that Sakara gives A LOT of dressing. I don’t think I could use all of it, my salads would be swimming! I’m also confused about whether or not I’m SUPPOSED to use all of it. Or would that be frowned upon?

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I had a couple of walnuts after dinner as I am planning on going for a run in the morning and just want to make sure I have enough fuel. Clearly, I did not fuel up enough today as I fell asleep on the couch at 8:30. But alas, that is the name of the cleanse game (when you overindulge to the nth degree for days on end beforehand, at least).

Leave a Reply

