Kale, Sausage and White Bean Stew

After a long hiatus, I have decide to revisit this blog. Life kind of got in the way a year ago and I need something right now to keep me going. Lately, I have felt completely sapped of energy. Of course, my first thought is what’s wrong with my diet? I’ve been caught up in a few unhealthy habits recently (hello bachelorette party wine tasting…washed down with a liter of Fireball Whiskey) and with this awful fatigue dragging me down, I feel as though it’s time for a major diet overhaul. First things first, I have got to get pounds of kale into my body, since it is apparently the healthiest food ever in the history of healthy food. This is quite a challenge because my dirty little unhealthy secret is that….I don’t love kale….I feel like I’m going to get in trouble for saying that but there it is. I made kale chips once and enjoyed them but it was kind of time consuming and I haven’t made them again in 3 years. My mom told me I have to hide it in my food- like Jessica Seinfeld does for Jerry and the kids? Kind of…think thicker sauces.

I stumbled upon a yummy looking kale recipe on Pinterest and decided to add some tomatoes to it and replace the bulk turkey sausage with chicken sausage that was already cooked by Al Fresco (I’m no stranger to a short cut). I whipped this up quickly after a lovely, calming yoga class and it was just what I needed. I think I can get on board with all this kale hoopla now…

Kale, White Bean & Sausage Stew

1 bunch of kale, torn to pieces, center stem removed

1 can of white beans (I used Eden Organic Navy Beans)

1 can of diced tomatoes

1 small onion, diced

1 clove of garlic, minced

1 Tbsp of olive oil

½ cup of chicken broth

4 cooked chicken sausage links cut into slices

1 Tbsp red wine vinegar (optional, I had every intention of stirring this in just before serving but completely forgot. Could be tasty though!)

In a large pot or your biggest sauté pan, add olive oil and sauté onions and garlic. Once the onions are translucent, add the sausage and heat through. Add beans and tomatoes. Bring pot to a simmer and cover for a few minutes. I had a ton of kale and had to add a few handfuls at a time, stir into the mixture, cover to allow the kale to cook down a bit and then add some more.

I served this with a roasted sweet potato but a little bit of brown rice or even just some crusty bread would be delish.

Leave a Reply

