Quiche…hold the Lorraine

I have a big problem. I am totally addicted to healthy living magazines. I mean, you may find an US weekly or 2 in my magazine pile as well…and I must say Glamour is one the my faves… OK so really I guess I’m just a magazine junky. I use this to motivate myself to get to the gym however, by only allowing myself to read magazines while working out. It’s a great little trick. SO really it isn’t a problem, until I tell you my dark secret- I don’t subscribe to magazines. I buy them. On the stand. Like a big money wasting idiot.

It’s not an unforgivable thing to do, but when I’m struggling to get my butt to the gym and buying Self, Women’s Health, Shape AND Fitness in one month- there is a big problem. But I can’t help myself. I can’t commit to one and I won’t let myself subscribe to all of them.

What I love about these magazines is that they always contain motivating stories of people who have struggled with weight but overcame obstacles to get healthier. That keeps me on the treadmill for another mile or 2. Plus, they contain great fitness tips. Sometimes even if I wasn’t planning on doing any strength training, I’ll give an interesting move a try. Before you know it, I’m throwing  some lunges and squats in there since I’m in the weight training section anyway.

But really, my favorite part of these magazines is the meal plans and the RECIPES. I like to find inspiration in sample diet plans and see how I can pick and choose the things that might work for me. In this month’s Shape, there was a delicious recipe for Quiche Lorraine. It looked simple enough so I decided to give it a whirl. The only problem is I forgot the bacon. I think that means you drop the Lorraine. So it’s just quiche. But it’s my first quiche. And I love it dearly. I had a slice for dinner and plan to pack it for breakfast for work this week. I love multi tasking meals (not that I wouldn’t have Pumpkin Pie for breakfast AND dinner. I would probably do that with all pies).

Quiche with Feta and Spinach

(roughly adapted from Shape’s Quiche Lorraine)

Ingredients:

Whole Wheat Pie Crust

3 Large Eggs

2 Large Egg Whites

12 oz Fat Free Evaporated Milk

1 cup of Spinach

½ Diced Onion

3 oz Feta

Dash of Salt (to taste)

Add any other spices you like!

Preheat oven to 375. Whisk together eggs and egg whites. Add milk, cheese, salt, onions. Tear spinach leaves and add to mixture. Pour egg mixture into frozen pie shell.

Bake for about 45-50 minutes until the pie is puffy. Remove from oven and cool for 10 minutes before slicing. Serves 8 and comes out to about 172 calories per slice.

Bon Appetit!

Leave a Reply

