Cinco de Mayo Pregame

I haven’t really celebrated Cinco de Mayo since college- that I can recall at least (and with my track record with Jose, it’s very likely that my recollection is way off). I loved any excuse during that magical time in my life to binge drink in theme.

Throw on a sombrero and chug margaritas until brain freeze is the least of your worries? Sign me up!

As soon as graduation hit, my underappreciated superpower ability to drink and not get hung-over pretty much dissappeared. All of the sudden, the love/hate relationship between me and Mr. Cuervo got a little more serious on the hate side of things.

This week, some girlfriends  and I were trying to get together for dinner and Thursday worked best for everyone. Thursday, May 5th you say?

That’s right folks. Break out those sombrero’s and dust off your party pants, because tequila shots are happening!

Just kidding- it’s a school night! I just don’t bounce back like I used to… But I am hosting dinner so I wanted to be able to offer some yummy Mexican food that might not be quite as bad for you as Mama Mexico (and margaritas will definitely be making an appearance). On the menu we have shrimp tacos and black bean and cheese quesadillas. I speak less Spanish than the average person but my favorite phrase is “con queso”.

Oh baby.

Bring on the queso (Did I say healthier?).

Mikey needed food tonight so I decided to test drive some snacks for tomorrow on him. Shrimp Quesadillas it is!

I tossed some peeled, de-veined shrimp in 1 tsp of chili powder, 1/2 tsp of cumin, 1/2 tsp of sugar and 1/2 tsp of salt.

I let those suckers cook for about 2 minutes per side, then chopped them and put them aside while I grilled some chopped onions and peppers.

Throw your tortilla in a pan and let it get hot on one side (about a minute or 2) and then flip over. I used one tortilla for myself so once I flipped I layered on some cheese, chopped shrimp and grilled veggies and then folded over. If you’re anything like me, you will want to serve this with heaps of guacamole and fresh salsa.

Ole!

Leave a Reply

