Sweet Potato Love

If you know me at all, you know that I tend to seriously exaggerate everything. I’m obsessed with 5 million things at once (roasted broccoli, Bryan Greenburg, Pure Food & Wine, red grapes, Mad Men, and reality tv…just to name a few). Everything is amaaaazing (plus or minus a few a’s). I don’t even realize I’m overdoing it until someone reminds me that no, frozen pineapple tidbits are not the best thing that have ever happened to me (although they are quite delightful). So if I’ve already said I’m obsessed about a few things up to this point, you have to understand that all obsessions pale in comparison to my love for sweet potatoes.

This may be because I didn’t even eat this beautiful orange spud until about 2 years ago (so we’re still in somewhat of a honeymoon phase). I used to have a big problem with them, actually. They really only popped up in my life at Thanksgiving-y types of events or potlucks with marshmallows stuck in them. To me, it was just really strange to add those ingredients to a vegetable, no matter how starchy or un-veggie like they may be. Finally, at a dinner with friends, I had half a baked sweet potato, nothing on it but a tiny bit of butter.

I was a goner.

Yams and sweet potatoes have become a staple in my diet. They are high in beta-carotene which is an antioxidant that converts to vitamin A in your body (which helps with gorgeous skin). They contain complex starches in addition to vitamins and minerals and are very easy to digest while providing long lasting energy.

By eating a sweet potato with a bit of healthy fat, your body absorbs the beta carotene better. Here is a go-to dinner in my life:

1 sweet potato, steamed and mashed with a fork (add a bit of maple syrup or go in a different route and try salsa) with a side salad of chopped tomatoes and cucumbers drizzled with a bit of red wine vinegar and olive oil.

Leave a Reply

