I’m a Free Cone Day Failure

The weather yesterday was not exactly conducive to waiting in a long line outside the door for my free cone *sigh*. I was going to stick it out but I chose inappropriate footwear for the day and my flats were completely filled with 2 inches of water- making for a very cold, very uncomfortable wait.

I went home coneless.

But I am happy to report that a healthy a dessert has come in lieu of my short comings with Ben & Jerry’s.

Luckily, I always have bananas on hand (have you noticed most of my breakfast recipes contain banana?). When using bananas for dessert, I usually freeze them, dip them in melted chocolate and top with peanut butter (I’ll post those soon!) but today I wanted to try something new. Having read about banana “soft-serve” I was intrigued but skeptical. I froze up a banana and a half and then put it in the food processor until smooth. It was delicious, but didn’t taste like vanilla ice cream as everyone said it would. Next time I’ll try adding a dash of vanilla extract.  I decided to get a little creative and make some peanut butter chocolate chip ice cream. I threw in a couple of tablespoons of PB and some chunks of dark chocolate and processed some more. Oh. My. God.

I honestly will take a cup of PB Chocolate Chip Banana Soft Serve anytime, because it is SO much better for me and still satisfies my ginormous sweet tooth (although I still adore both Ben and Jerry).

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Banana Soft Serve

2 frozen bananas

2 Tblsp of peanut butter

1/2 oz dark chocolate chips (or chunks of a chocolate bar)

Mix bananas in a food processor until well blended. The add peanut butter and chocolate and mix for a minute or so longer.

I added a bit of Chocolate Liqueur on top!

Leave a Reply

