Bulgur, Baby!

I have recently discovered and begun experimenting with bulgur -a grain that packs more nutrients than rice and can be used in similar ways. After wheat kernels have been steamed, dried and crushed, bulgur is what remains. One cup of bulgur has fewer calories, less fat and twice the fiber of brown rice. Being that bulgur is processed minimally, its protein and minerals remain intact. Easily found in health food stores, bulgur is available in three grinds- course, medium and fine. Not knowing what I was doing when buying my own bag of this funny named grain, I ended up with a medium grind. After doing some research, I learned that course bulgur is used in pilafs or stuffing’s, medium is used in cereals and finely ground bulgur is well suited for dishes such as tabbouleh.

One problem I have with brown rice is cooking time. It seems to take forever and I unless I’m using my rice cooker, it never comes out how I look it (sticky & chewy). Bulgur is already partially cooked so your meal is ready in no time! Combine one part bulgur to two cups liquid, simmer for about 15 minutes and voila! If you enjoy a chewier texture of grain, give bulgur a try!

Below is my quick dinner recipe, helping me get a much needed serving of leafy greens in today’s meal plan (with plenty leftover for packed lunches!). I plan on trying salads with lentils or beans or a pilaf with nuts and dried fruits.

Bulgur with Spinach and Feta

1 cup bulgur

2 cups chicken/vegetable brother (or water)

1 small onion, chopped

As much spinach are your heart desires (about 2-3 cups for me)

1 oz feta cheese

1 clove of garlic, minced

1 tsp Olive Oil

Bring broth to a boil in a small sauce pan. Once boiling, pour in bulgur and reduce heat. Cover and simmer for about 15 minutes or until almost all of the liquid is absorbed. In a medium sized pan, heat the olive oil and sauté onions and garlic until fragrant. Add the spinach in small handfuls and stir until it is wilted. Stir spinach/garlic/onion mixture into finished bulgur and add the feta. Bon appétit!

Leave a Reply

